How current trends influence your style

by Irene

vogue (via)

     Each of us has a unique,particular style, that helps them stand out (or blend in!) from individuals around them. Ask any celebrity, style icon or even your dear neighbor and any given day of the week they will assure you that current trends don’t dominate their style sense, and they wear what is pleasing to them, and not to some designer. Sounds familiar? Then, there is the over-rehearsed quote from the lady herself, Coco Chanel stating that “fashions fade, style is eternal”. What the late Miss Chanel meant,is that no matter what the norm of dressing in a current era is, if you have a sense of style,it will shine above tweed skirts and color blocking. However, is anybody really taking into any account the influence said current trends have on them? The concept is simple: everything you wear at this particular moment has been influenced by a big percent by the dominating fashion trends at the time you acquired it. If I have a military inspired blazer in my closet, it is because I went to Zara in spring 2010 and bought it. Remember how big the military trend was? Yeah, you can thank the Balmain fellows on that one. However, at the current time, I was oblivious to the fact that buying said blazer constituted that I let said trend influence my style. To me, it was just a blazer, and honestly,it probably was just a blazer. But see what happened? I took a little piece of current fashion home with me,and in my closet. So, when I wore it the next day, without having any knowledge, I was a part of current trends. To the fashion aware ones, I was following a trend. I have managed to become part of the norm, beating in some level the whole concept of style, which according to the lady, shines above fashion. But is it necessarily a bad thing? Does it make me a blind consumer that wishes to wear what is in right now to prove themselves as fashion savvy? No, it doesn’t. And letting trends influence your wardrobe choices is unevitable. Except if you shop and dress all vintage, every time you buy something from a shop you are allowing trends to enter your wardrobe and modify in some way your style. And it is definitely not something bad, because through current and past trends, you can achieve a personal style so unique, that has nothing to do with the cookie cutter style the fashion industry promotes. Two days later, I saw a girl wearing the same military blazer, styled completely different from the way I and Balmain styled it. And I was sure: style can really shine above fashion.

